This is the "About Us" page of the "U.S. Army War College Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

U.S. Army War College Library  

The choice of strategic leaders for accessing and evaluating global knowledge.
Last Updated: Aug 6, 2014 URL: http://usawc.libguides.com/home Print Guide RSS Updates

About Us Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hours and Contact Information

Library Hours

Generally, personnel assigned to Carlisle Barracks have access to the Library anytime Root Hall is open. All others may use the Library Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. (Closed Federal Holidays).


Contact Information

AREA CODE 717   DSN 242

Director

245-4300

Research & Instruction

245-3660

Access Services

245-4288

InterLibrary Loan

245-4298

Course Reserves

245-4610

Copyright

245-3311

Webmaster

245-3660

FAX

245-3720/3323

Mailing Address
U.S. Army War College

Library
122 Forbes Avenue
Carlisle, PA 17013-5220

 

Computers/Copier/Scanner

Computer workstations with printers are available for use by customers with valid Carlisle Barracks network accounts. These computers provide access to the Library's catalog and subscription databases, as well as the Internet, CBOnline, and Microsoft Office products.

The Library also has several computers that do not require Carlisle Barracks network accounts. These computers allow visitors and others to search the Library's catalog and databases. The Library provides free wireless access to those who wish to bring their own laptop computers or mobile devices.

We strive to maintain the computers and printers, but occasionally equipment and systems malfunction. When this occurs, notify personnel at the Access Services Desk. Only USAWC systems personnel are authorized to load or modify software on the computers. Use of USB thumb drives is not permitted on network computers.

Generally, use of the photocopier is restricted to USAWC faculty, students, and staff for mission-related copying. A scanner is also available for their convenience.

 

Breakout Areas and Study Carrels

Individual study carrels throughout the Library are available for students and faculty. Carrels are for daily use on a first come basis. Exceptions may be made for special project needs (excluding the Strategy Research Project). Those using carrels for more than one day should register at the Access Services Desk.

There are breakout areas for group study, collaboration, and meetings. A large presentation area equipped with an overhead projector, big screen, and instructor computer workstation is set up for librarians’ instructional sessions and may also be reserved by students, staff, and faculty for meetings and group coursework.

Visit the Access Services Desk or phone 717-245-4288 to reserve a breakout area or carrel.

 

Directions

Click on "View Larger Map" below to receive directions to drive onto Carlisle Barracks.

 

Library Description

The primary research and information source for the Army’s senior educational institution, the U.S. Army War College Library plays a key role in the development of military, civilian, and international strategic leaders. Noted for sustained, high-quality services, and extensive research resources, the Library is a graduate-level special academic library supporting The College’s mission. In addition to its primary users, the Library also serves organizations and individuals outside of Carlisle Barracks and the Army, including Congress, the Department of Defense, federal agencies, universities and colleges, the media, and individual researchers and writers.

The highly expert and customer-friendly library staff ensures the efficient retrieval and delivery of research and information. Other services include group information literacy programs, tutorials and workshops, library tours, current awareness and subject bibliography compilations, copyright service, hard copy and electronic course reserves, acquisition and distribution of curriculum texts, interlibrary loan and document delivery.

Housed within the academic building, the Library is conveniently located for students and faculty who have 24/7 access to the collection, computers, and all study areas.

The Library has quiet spots for research, study, and reflection, but the Common Area is a gathering place where lively discussion and interaction is encouraged. To further promote a welcoming environment, the Library permits food and covered drinks.

 

Scope of Collection

The Library’s rich and varied collection of print, electronic, and other non-print materials includes subjects such as military strategy and operations, area studies, international relations, foreign policy, management, and economics.

For information related to military history, please contact the United States Army Heritage and Education Center http://www.carlisle.army.mil/ahec

 

Mission, Vision, and Motto

Mission. Furnishes access to the world of knowledge through quality library services and resources, thus enabling The U.S. Army War College's mission to develop strategic level leaders for service while advancing knowledge in the global application of Landpower.

Vision. THE choice of strategic leaders for accessing and evaluating global knowledge.

Motto. Research. Read. Relate.

 

Borrowing

We extend direct borrowing privileges to Carlisle Barracks military and civilian personnel and their families, active and retired military living in the Carlisle area, and members of Associated College Libraries of Central Pennsylvania institutions. Others should contact their local library to arrange interlibrary loans.

Normally, customers may borrow circulating books and audio CDs for one month, and videocassettes and DVDs for one week. Reference books and periodicals, to include back files, are for in library use only. The Library may recall any item on loan for mission use.

The Library has open stack areas. Customers unable to locate books, journals, or other materials should ask for assistance at the Access Services Desk. During hours that the Library is staffed, circulating materials will be charged out at the Access Services Desk. During unstaffed hours, USAWC personnel can charge out materials manually by following the directions posted at the desk. Library customers may request holds and recalls, and renew items as long as they have not been requested by another customer. Please visit the Access Services Desk or phone 717-245-4288.

Access Services Desk personnel will process requests for library materials unavailable at Carlisle Barracks through interlibrary loan. Complete an ILL Request to submit a request. It may also be forwarded to the Library through distribution or delivered in person. You will be notified when the item arrives.

Lost library items must be reported and restitution will be made in accordance with Library and Army policy.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip