This is the "Home" page of the "How to Find and Link a Journal Article" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How to Find and Link a Journal Article  

Last Updated: Feb 18, 2014 URL: http://usawc.libguides.com/article_linking Print Guide

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Information

Background on Persistent Links

  • URLs that connect users directly to library database articles
  • Easily built and useful when creating online syllabi, reading lists, bibliographies and other research tools
  • Persistent links are also termed "durable" or "stable" links because the links continue to work over time (usually for months or even years)
  • Assist instructors both to comply with copyright law and to save money on the purchase of copyright permissions. Electronic articles and books accessed from USAWC persistent links are paid for in database license agreements. In effect, accessing articles by hot-linking into a library database has been pre-paid by the library.
  • Faculty, Staff, and Students will be able to access articles via persistent links almost anywhere in the world

Linking to an Article

Many databases with full-text articles provide "Persistent link" capabilities. Different databases use different means for persistent links to articles (i.e. it's not always a simple matter of copying the address from the address window of your browser). A method to find the persistent link for each database is provided below. A list of our available databases can be found at the Library's website.


Important Tips

  • Persistent URLs will generally not have the words "session ID" or "results" in the URL
  • Persistent URLs will continue to work if you delete your browser files, or if you click on them from another computer
  • Persistent URLs will continue to work if you click on them a few days later
  • Use the Link builder for the best results - http://www.carlisle.army.mil/library/reformat.htm

 

For Step-by-Step Directions for Creating an EZproxy Link click here

If you have any questions, please contact the Research Librarians at usawc.libraryr@us.army.mil

 

Access Solutions

How to Obtain a Username and Password

Remote USAWC Portal users can obtain a current username and password from the EZproxy login page or here. Authenticated DDE users can obtain a username and password from the DDE Education Online server's News and Events section.

How to Test Your Link

If you are linking articles on-post, first click here to force Internet Explorer to behave like it is off-post. Next CLOSE THE WINDOW YOU JUST OPENED. You can now click on the article link you created. You will be brought to the EZproxy login page. Your link will now work like it is being used off-post. EZproxy requires a username and password for access.

After you have finished testing your link(s), click here to reset your Internet Explorer back to normal. Again, CLOSE THE WINDOW, then SAVE AND CLOSE your file. (If you are using Word, as long as your document is open, your computer will continue to act as if it is off-post.)

 

Link Builder

Stable Link Reformat This tool reformats a persistent link by adding the USAWC EZproxy prefix for off-site access.

Paste URL here and click the button (do not press enter):
 
 
 
Durable URL:




Click here to add the Link Builder to your favorites!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip