This is the "Research" page of the "USAWC Graduates and All Other Patrons" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

USAWC Graduates and All Other Patrons  

Last Updated: Feb 8, 2017 URL: http://usawc.libguides.com/graduates_others Print Guide RSS Updates

Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Catalog and Digital Collections (Summon 2.0)

Search both the Library Catalog and our Digital Collections using this search:


Search only the Library Catalog                Search only the Digital Collections


We have developed two manuals to assist you in searching our Digital Collections:

Digital Collections Manual
Digital Collections Manual Quick Guide

 

Contact Us

Ridgway Hall Root Hall
 
Research and Instruction (717) 245-3949 Research and Instruction (717) 245-3660
Circulation (717) 245-3130 Access Services (717) 245-4300

Current Students, Faculty, and Staff - visit this page.

 

Copies and Reproduction

We offer several methods for reproducing materials on site. Copies of most books, manuscripts, microforms, and photographs in Ridgway Hall can be provided for a fee.

Please download the Copy and Reproduction Instructions and Fee Schedule.

 

Please Read!

The research facility is open during Normal Business Hours.

Searching the online catalog should give you a good idea where to physically start your search, i.e., Root Hall or Ridgway Hall. See “visit” above for directions and hours. Both locations are open to the public. No appointments are needed. There are no fees to use the collections.

Root Hall is an open stack library which means patrons are free to wander in the stacks and browse the collection.

Ridgway Hall is a closed stack library where staff will retrieve requested materials. One cart of archival boxes per researcher will be allowed on the floor at one time.

All requests to examine materials on Saturdays must be coordinated the previous week by calling (717) 245-3949.

In an effort to ensure continued compliance with regulatory requirements we are conducting a review of many of the Ridgway Hall collections, mainly manuscripts, prior to public release.  These reviews may delay and limit access to certain holdings.  We recommend that you plan your research trip accordingly. Please call our reference team at (717) 245-3949 for more information or see this document.

 

Description of Collections

Resources available to researchers include:

-Over half a million books supporting the development of strategic leaders, the study of landpower, and military history

-Extensive Unit history collection

-Rare book collection, including titles from the original War Department Library

-52 series of U.S. Army doctrinal, training, and administrative publications

-Personal papers including those of Nelson Miles, Tasker Bliss, Matthew B. Ridgway, Eric Shinseki, J. Lawton Collins, Benjamin O. Davis, Sr., Margaret Craighill, Gordon Sullivan, and most post-World War II U.S. Army Chiefs of Staff

-Diaries, letters, and photographs of American soldiers from the Mexican-American War onward.

-Over 250 general officer oral history transcripts

-Veteran surveys from the Spanish-American War to the Cold War

-Curricular archives of the U.S. Army War College from 1907 onward

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip