This is the "Offsite Access to Library Database Content" page of the "Offsite Access" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Offsite Access  

Last Updated: Jul 16, 2013 URL: http://usawc.libguides.com/offsite_access Print Guide RSS Updates
Offsite Access to Library Database Content Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Offsite Access to Articles in Library Databases

EZproxy - Enables access to licensed database content when you are not in Root Hall. It operates as an intermediary server between your computer and the Library's subscription databases.

Links  - You will find EZproxy links to full text readings in online syllabi, directives, bibliographies, reading lists, and emails. Usually, instructors and librarians provide these links so that you can easily access course materials anytime, anywhere. It also helps us comply with copyright law and saves money on the purchase of copyright permissions.

Library Databases - You can use EZproxy to access Library databases when you are away from Root Hall. Go to the Library's webpage http://usawc.libguides.com/home, click on any database in the Library Databases column, such as ProQuest, EBSCO OmniFile, or FirstSearch, and then use your EZproxy username and password to login.

Username and Password - From home, when you click on a link that was built using EZproxy, or you are accessing a particular database, you will be prompted to provide a username and password. You only need to do this once per session. You will find EZproxy login information on the wallet-size card you were given by the Library. If you have misplaced yours, just ask at the Access Services Desk for another card, contact us by phoning (717) 245-4288, or email usawc.libraryr@us.army.mil. You can also access the username and password from the CBPortal here. Please remember not to share EZproxy login information with others.

Impact of Firewalls - Most Internet service providers (ISPs) do not limit the areas you can access on the Internet, so home users should not encounter problems with firewalls. However, corporate sites often do employ firewalls and may be highly restrictive in what their employees can access, which can impede EZproxy.


ACCESS SOLUTIONS

Try Again! Many problems with EZproxy are caused simply by login errors. If your first login attempt fails, try again. Check to make sure the Caps Lock is not on. Or, if you see a Page Not Found message after you do login, use the Back button and click on the link again. It may work the second time.

Broken Link - If a link appears to be broken, you can find the article by using the appropriate database instead. Go to the Library's webpage www.carlisle.army.mil/library, click on the database name, type in your EZproxy username and password to login, and then search for the specific article.

Browsers - EZproxy works independently from operating systems and browsers, but problems may be caused by your browser if you have not downloaded and installed the newest version. Also, it is a good idea to check to make sure that the security settings on your browser are not too restrictive and that it will accept cookies and allow popups. Be aware ISPs that use proprietary versions of browsers, such as AOL, can interfere with EZproxy. A simple workaround is to connect to your provider, minimize the window, and then open a browser such as Mozilla Firefox or Microsoft Internet Explorer.

Databases - Not all remote access problems are caused by EZproxy. Occasionally databases will have technical problems. Deleting cookies might help. You may successfully pass through EZproxy only to find an error caused by the database. If this happens, back out of the database and try using another one. It is unlikely that both providers would be having technical problems at the same time. Generally, database problems are resolved quickly.

Help and Tips - For assistance, please contact the USAWC Research Librarians by phoning (717) 245-3660, or email usawc.libraryr@us.army.mil.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip