This is the "General" page of the "Regional Studies Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Regional Studies Resources  

The U.S. Army War College Library compiled this Guide to provide selected sources of information for the Regional Study Electives.
Last Updated: Oct 27, 2016 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

General Print Page

Library Resources

  • CIAO [Columbia International Affairs Online]
    A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Publishes a wide range of scholarship (1991 - present) that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, conference proceedings, and policy briefs.
  • CountryWatch
    A country-specific presentation of political, economic, cultural, environmental, and business information and data for all 191 countries of the world. Sources include Country ReviewsTM, the Country WireTM, CountryWatch Data and CountryWatch Business Services.
  • Europa World Plus
    Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories
  • U.S. Army War College Library Current Awareness - Regional Security
    Library guides to current resources, which feature tailored RSS feeds delivering U.S. Army War College publications and other pertinent material.
  • OECD [Organisation for Economic Development] Economic Outlook  Icon
    Released twice a year, these reports comprise a general assessment of member countries, reviews on key non-member economies, topical economic issue chapters, and key statistics. Also Root Hall HC240 .O745.
  • SIPRI Yearbook: World Armaments and Disarmament  
    Reviews recent regional and worldwide developments in weapons, military spending, international arms trade and other issues related to armaments, disarmament, and international security. JX1974 .S775.
  • The Military Balance  Icon
    Published annually by the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS) to provide quantitative assessment of the military capabilities and defense expenditures of 170 countries. Also Root Hall REF UA15 .I5.
  • Strategic Survey: The Annual Review of World Affairs
    Produced by the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS), this reference work offers current strategic, political, and defense assessments of world regions. Also Root Hall UA15 .I51.
  • Jane’s Sentinel Country Risk Assessments
    Provide information about nations’ political, security, and military affairs. Each region is organized by country profiles, and includes analysis of the latest trends and events; detailed analyses of internal and external threats; and overviews of armed forces, security, and foreign forces.

Books from the Library

Cover Art
Culture Matters - Samuel P. Huntington; Lawrence E. Harrison
Call Number: Root Hall HM681 .C85 2000
ISBN: 0465031765
Publication Date: 2001-04-05
New York : Basic Books, c2000.
The world at the beginning of the 21st century is more divided than ever between the rich and the poor, between those living in freedom and those under oppression. Even in prosperous democracies, troubling gaps in well-being persist. As the credibility of traditional explanations - colonialism, dependency, racism - declines, many now believe that the principal reason why some countries and ethnic groups are better off than others lies in the cultural values that powerfully shape nations and people's political, economic, and social performance.

Cover Art
When Cultures Collide - Richard D. Lewis
Call Number: Root Hall HD62.4 .L28 2006
ISBN: 9781904838029
Publication Date: 2005-09-29
Boston ; London : Nicholas Brealey International, 2006.
Cross-cultural expert Richard Lewis broadens the scope of his seminal work on global business and intercultural communication. Within each country-specific chapter, Lewis provides invaluable insight into the beliefs, values, behaviors, mannerisms, and prejudices of each culture.

Cover Art
Global Dexterity - Andy Molinsky
Call Number: Root Hall HM1211 .M65 2013
ISBN: 9781422187272
Boston, Massachusetts : Harvard Business Review Press, [2013]
What does it mean to be a global worker and a true "citizen of the world" today? It goes beyond merely acknowledging cultural differences. In reality, it means you are able to adapt your behavior to conform to new cultural contexts without losing your authentic self in the process. Not only is this difficult, it's a frightening prospect for most people and something completely outside their comfort zone. But managing and communicating with people from other cultures is an essential skill today. Most of us collaborate with teams across borders and cultures on a regular basis, whether we spend our time in the office or out on the road. What's needed now is a critical new skill, something author Andy Molinsky calls global dexterity. In this book, Molinsky offers the tools needed to simultaneously adapt behavior to new cultural contexts while staying authentic and grounded in your own natural style. Based on more than a decade of research, teaching, and consulting with managers and executives around the world, this book reveals an approach to adapting while feeling comfortable -- an essential skill that enables you to switch behaviors and overcome the emotional and psychological challenges of doing so.

Cover Art
Culture Savvy - Maureen Bridget Rabotin
Call Number: Root Hall HM1271 .R33 2011
ISBN: 9781562867362
Publication Date: 2011-02-16
Alexandria, VA : American Society for Training & Development, 2011.
Globalization is a business reality. As companies try to succeed in the international arena, the question of culture, learned behaviors, and implicit (mis-)understandings are part of the formula. Typical Culture 101 training consists of a list of dos and donts that tend to reinforce negative stereotypes and increase anxiety about overseas collaboration. This book presents a new approach that addresses culture directly and is based on research from the field of neuroscience. Recognizing why we may feel anxiety and discomfort in different cultures helps us overcome those feelings. This book focuses on what every human values, the four Rs : respect, relationships, recognition, and reward.

Cover Art
Global Business Etiquette - Jeanette S. Martin; Lillian H. Chaney
Call Number: Root Hall HF5389 .M37 2012
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Praeger, c2012.
Business people who work internationally or work with people who are international need to know how to act before they can get the business--and keep it. Proper business communication includes everything from emails to eye contact, and the rules of what is "right" in other countries can be daunting to navigate. Global Business Etiquette: A Guide to International Communication and Customs, Second Edition provides critical information that businesspeople--both for men and women--need to understand the dynamics of cross-cultural communication, avoid embarrassing and costly gaffes, and succeed in business outside of the United States. Topics covered in this indispensible resource include conversation topics that are considered appropriate for different situations; how to make a positive good impression; dress and travel; attitudes toward religion, education, status, and social class; and cultural variations in public behavior. Information is provided about the United States at the end of each chapter about the ten countries that Americans do the most business with to benefit international readers.

Open Resources

  • Central Intelligence Agency – The World Factbook
    Data on countries, territories, and sovereignties, including government, economy, and military information. Updated bi-weekly online.
  • UNdata
    Compiles information from databases offered by the United Nations. Includes data on energy, industry, information and communication technology, population, trade, and more.
  • United Nations Treaty Collection
    Contains information on the status of over 500 multilateral instruments, 158,000 historical and current treaties, and supporting documentation, including photographs and a glossary.
  • United Nations Statistics Division
    A searchable repository, providing information on current practices in National Statistical Systems around the world, and international guidelines on statistical organizations.
  • U.S. Department of State Websites of U.S. Embassies, Consulates, and Diplomatic Missions
    A listing of websites from the State Department, each website contains information for the individual country.
  • U.S. Department of State Background Notes/Country Fact Sheets
    Compiled from regional bureau reports to provide detailed information about a country’s people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations.
  • 2016 Global Forecast  
    An annual collection of wide-ranging essays by CSIS experts, 2016 Global Forecast discusses the issues that will matter most to America and the world’s security and prosperity in the year ahead.
  • Treaties in Force
    A comprehensive list of treaties and other international acts of the United States currently in force.
  • Invisible Armies: Insurgency Tracker  
    The Invisible Armies Insurgency Tracker presents a database of insurgencies from 1775 to 2012.
  • Early Warning and Environmental Monitoring Program
    The Early Warning and Environmental Monitoring (EWEM) program encompasses a broad spectrum of scientific endeavors operating at national, regional , and international scales. EWEM project activities support investigations in the areas of climate change, natural resource management, environmental change detection, food security monitoring, water resource assessments, and hazard identification/mitigation.

Open Resources : Economics

Strategic Research Projects: Cross-Cultural Awareness


Loading  Loading...