Skip to Main Content

History of U.S. Army Nurses: VIETNAM WAR

USAHEC's U.S. Army Nurses Reference Bibliography

Collections

Vietnam War Veterans Survey Collection
5 boxes. Archival.
Box 4/Folder 167: LTC Nancy A. Faller, 67th Medical Group, 67th Evacuation Hospital, Head Nurse (1969-1970)

Books

Vietnam: The Heartland Remembers by Stanley W. Bessley, editor
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS556.4.V54
(Norman, OK: U OK, 1987).
Oral histories include Army nurse Marguerite Giroux
Hostile Fire: The Life and Death of First Lieutenant Sharon Lane by Philip Bigler
Call Number: Ridgway Hall UH347 .L36 B54 1996
(Arlington, VA: Vandamere Press, 1996).
Vietnam Military Lore, 1959-1973: Another Way to Remember by Ray A. Bows
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS552.5.B68
(Hanover, MA: Bows & Sons, 1988).
See pp. 224-27 on Lt Sharon Lane, first nurse killed in action, 8 Jun 1969
Valor in Vietnam: Chronicles of Honor, Courage and Sacrifice, 1963-1977 by Allen B. Clark
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS558 .C537 2012
(Philadelphia, PA: Casemate, 2012).
Includes chapter: “The Real Horrors of War: Captain Marian E. “Wendy” Weller, USA (Nurse, Da Nang, 1969-1970)”
Another Kind of War Story: Army Nurses Look Back at Vietnam by Barb Deardorff, et al
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS556.4A56
(Lebanon, PA: Blyer, 1993).
Nurses in Vietnam: The Forgotten Veterans by Dan Freedman, editor
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS556.4N87
(Austin: TX Monthly, 1987).
Personal narratives
The Fighting Strength: Memoirs of a Combat Nurse in Vietnam by Lynn Hampton
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS556.2.H35 1992
(New York, NY: Warner Books, 1992).
Station Hospital Saigon: A Navy Nurse in Vietnam, 1963-64 by Bobbi Hovis
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS556.2.H68
(Annapolis, MD: Naval Inst, 1991).
“War Stories”: False Atrocity Tales, Swift Boaters, and Winter Soldiers: What Really Happened in Vietnam by Gary Kulik
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS557.7 K85 2009
(Washington, D.C.: Potomac Books, 2009).
Includes chapter, “A Nurse’s Tale.”
In the Combat Zone: An Oral History of American Women in Vietnam, 1966-1975 by Kathryn Marshall
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS557.7.W6.M37
(Boston: Little, Brown, 1987).
Strange Ground: Americans in Vietnam, 1945-1975: An Oral History by Harry Maurer
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS556.4.M386
(NY: Holt, 1989).
Includes personal narrations of nurse Jane Piper (pp. 279-88)
Medical Support of the U.S. Army in Vietnam 1965-1970 by Spurgeon Neel
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS556.2N44
In the Vietnam Studies Series, (Washington, DC: Dept Army, 1984): 142-46.
Women at War: The Story of Fifty Military Nurses Who Served in Vietnam by Elizabeth M. Norman
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS557.7.W6.N67
(Philadelphia, PA: University of Pennsylvania, 1990).
Vietnam War Nurses: Personal Accounts of 18 Americans by Patricia Rushton
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS559.44 R87 2013
(Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 2013).

Websites

Highlights in the History of the Army Nurse Corps, 1960-1990
The Army Nurse Corps Association
ANCA Vietnam Veterans

Articles

"Nurses on Vietnam Duty"
Tom Bozzuto. Army Digest (May 1970): 12-13.
“Privileged to Comfort the Dying"
Sylvia Lutz-Holland. Vietnam (Feb 2009): 50-53.
“Carol Jean Sundling: Pennsylvania, U.S. Air Force Flight Nurse"
Carol Jean Sundling. In Soldiers Heart: Close-up Today with PTSD in Vietnam Veterans, ed. William Schroder and Ronald Dawe, 3-40. Westport: Praeger Security International, 2007.
Ridgway Hall RC552.P67S37 2007
“‘Officer. Nurse. Woman.’ Army Nurse Corps Recruitment for the Vietnam War"
Kara Dixon Vuic. Nursing History Review 14 (2006): 111-159.

Dissertations

Foundations of Animosity and Disillusionment: Recruitment, Training, and Deployment Practices of the Army Nurse Corps during the Vietnam War
Julie Anne Barton. Master’s thesis (Baylor University, 1996).
Ridgway Hall DS559.8.W6 B37 1996a
Life Readjustment Stress, Coping, and Patterns of Appraisal among Vietnam era Health-Related Military Personnel and Nurse Veterans
Kathryn Ann Bourke. PhD diss. (California School of Professional Psychology, Fresno, 1994).
Ridgway Hall UB369.B68 1994a
Experience of Posttraumatic Stress Disorder for Female Vietnam Nurse Veterans
Donna K. Buechler. PhD diss. (Walden University, 2007).
Ridgway Hall UB369.B84 2007a
Oral History Reflections of Army Nurse Vietnam Veterans: Managing the Demanding Experience of War
Constance J. Moore. Master's thesis (San Jose State, 1992).
Ridgway Hall UM290.M66
Nurses in War: A Study of Female Military Nurses Who Served in Vietnam During the War Years 1965-1973
Elizabeth M. Norman. PhD diss. (NYU, 1986).
Ridgway Hall UM290N66
Based on author's interviews with 50 nurses of all 3 armed services
Vietnam Era Army Nurses: Perceptions of the Effect of the War on Close Relationships
Judy L. Renning. Master's thesis (CA State-Long Beach, 1992).
Ridgway Hall UM290.R46

Books

Soldier’s Heart: Close-Up Today with PTSD in Vietnam Veterans by William Schroder and Ronald Dawe
Call Number: Ridgway Hall RC552.P67 S37 2007
(Wesport, CT: Praeger Security International, 2007).
Includes reflections from Carol Jean Sundling, U.S. Air Force Flight Nurse
A Legacy of Service: A Collection of Original Essays, Personal Stories, and Hopes for Our Country by Jan C. Scruggs
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS559.5.S38 2014
(Washington, D.C.: Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund, 2014).
Includes chapter entitled “Women in Wartime: A Nurse Remembers”
American Daughter Gone to War: On the Front Lines With an Army Nurse in Vietnam by Winnie Smith
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS559.44.S57
(NY: Morrow, 1992).
Home Before Morning: The Story of an Army Nurse in Vietnam by Lynda Van Devanter
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS556.4.V36
(NY: Beaufort, 1983).
Covers her 1969 tour
Officer, Nurse, Woman: The Army Nurse Corps in the Vietnam War by Kara D. Vuic
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS559.44.V85
(Baltimore: Johns Hopkins, 2010).
A Piece of My Heart: The Stories of 26 American Women Who Served in Vietnam by Keith Walker, editor
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS557.7.W6.P54
(Novato, CA: Presidio, 1986).
Personal narratives include nurses
Dreams That Blister Sleep: A Nurse in Vietnam by Sharon G. Wildwind
Call Number: Ridgway Hall DS559.8.W6.W55
(Edmonton, Canada: River, 1999).

Last Updated: Jul 22, 2024 1:06 PM
URL: https://usawc.libguides.com/History_Army_Nurses
Print Page