Skip to Main Content

History of U.S. Army Nurses: WWII: Personal Experiences

USAHEC's U.S. Army Nurses Reference Bibliography

Collections

World War II Veterans Survey Collection
- This link opens in a new window
773 boxes. Archival.
See: Medical Corps Units World War II Veterans Survey; includes surveys from Army Nurse Corps.

AWC Student Papers

The Forgotten POW: Second Lieutenant Reba Z. Whittle
Mary E. V. Frank. Study Project, (Carlisle Barracks, PA: U.S. Army War College, 1990).
One of the 68 Army nurses & 16 Navy nurses captured in WWII.

Online Resources

Gertrude Ivory Bertram Digitized Collection
Institute on World War II and the Human Experience at FSU
An African American Nurse who served in North Africa and Europe
NPR: Kate Nolan, WWII Combat Nurse (Europe)
U.S. Army: The Pearl Harbor Attack, as remembered by the nurses who were there

World War II U.S. Medical Research Centre Veteran Nurse Testimonies

Books: General

Unsung Heroes: Combat Nurses & Army Wives by LaVada Bishop Aquilina
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6 A78 1995
(El Paso, TX: Trego-Hill, 1995).
Reflections of One Army Nurse in World War II by Gladys Bonine
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.B665
(NY: Vantage Press, 1996).
Oral History of Beulah L. Langman by Ruth W. Davis
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6 L36 1983
(York, PA: York College of Pennsylvania, Oral History Center, 1983).

Articles

“An Army Nurse Describes a Deadly Attack on a Hospital Ship”
Andrew Carroll. World War II (Sep 2009): pp. 15-16.
Vera Lee, 95th Evacuation Hospital off coast of Salerno, Sep 1943.

Dissertations

Coping with War: An Oral History of United States Army Flight Nurses Who Flew with the Army Air Forces in World War II
Judith Barger. PhD diss., (Texas, 1986).
The Role of the Army Nurse in World War II: A Content Analysis of Nurses’ First Person Accounts
Lois Lagerman. PhD diss., (Columbia University, 1996).

Books: Pacific

Lingering Fever: A World War II Nurse’s Memoir by LaVonne Telshaw Camp
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.C36
(Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1997).
Army Nurse in the CBI, WWII
What a Way to Spend a War: Navy Nurse POWs in the Philippines by Dorothy S. Danner
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D805.P6.D36
(Annapolis, MD: Naval Institute, 1995).
Santo Tomas & Los Baños, Philippines
An Angel’s Illustrated Journal: It Has Taken Sixty Years to Explain Why She Was on the Mactan and Not a Prisoner by Floramund F. Difford
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.P6.D54
(Toledo, WA: Chapters of Life, 2005).
The Diary of Jean Hays: A WWII Army Nurse in Fiji by Jean Hays
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.G66
Edited by Tiffany Mur. (Philadelphia, PA: Xlibris Corp, 2005).
Warrior in White by Lucy Wilson Jopling
Call Number: Ridgway Hall UH347.J66 A3 1990
(San Antonio, TX: Watercress Press, 1990).
Army nurse in the Philippines during WWII
Angel of Bataan: The Life of a World War II Army Nurse in the War Zone and at Home by Walter Marshall Macdougall
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6 M217 2015
(Lanham, MD: Down East Books, 2015).
Mother Wore Combat Boots and Chased Troop Trains: A Young Woman’s Adventure Story as an Army Nurse in World War II by Meredith M. Matthews
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.M38
(Akron, OH: Grapevine, 1998).
Served in liberated Philippines
Jungle Angel: Bataan Remembered by Hortense E. McKay
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D767.4.M25 A3 1988
(Brainerd, MN: M. Russell, 1988).
Angels in Khaki by Abbie C. Ratledge
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6 R38 1975
(San Antonio, TX: Naylor Co., 1975).
Served as a Lieutenant in the Army Nurse Corps during WWII in the South Pacific
I Served on Bataan by Juanita Redmond
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D767.4.R4
(Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott, 1943).
Fearless Presence: The Story of Lt. Col. Nola Forrest, Who Led the Army Nurses Through Heat, Rain, Mud and Enemy Fire in World War II by Eleanor Stoddard
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.F67
(Baltimore, MD: American Literary Press, 2007).

Books: Europe and North Africa

G.I. Nightingale: The Story of an American Army Nurse by Theresa Archard
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D811.A65
(NY: Norton, 1945).
“Edith (Sairs) McClure: Army Nurse in England” in Just Doing My Job: Stories of Service From World War II by Jonna Doolittle Hoppes
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D811.A2.J87
(Santa Monica, CA: Santa Monica Press, 2009).
The Shavetail and the Army Nurse: The Bride Wore Olive Drab by Eli and Bernice Fishpaw
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D756 .F52 1998
(Deland, FL: E. and B. Fishpaw, 1998).
Thank You, Uncle Sam: Letters of a World War II Army Nurse from North Africa and Italy by Eugenia M. Kielar
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D811.K535
(Bryn Mawr, PA: Dorrance, 1987).
Bernie’s Letters Home: A Collection of Letters Written Home by a Broome County Army Nurse Stationed in Europe During World war II by Bernice F. Kneller
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.K64
(Binghamton, NY: Broome County Hist Soc, 1999).
Albanian Escape: The True Story of U.S. Army Nurses Behind Enemy Lines by Agnes J. Mangerich
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.M36
(Louisville, KY: U KY, 1999).
Crash-landed flight nurses escape w/ Albanian partisan assistance, Nov 1943-Jan 1944
War Stories: Remembering World War II by Elizabeth Mullener
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D811A2 M85 2002
Foreword by Stephen E. Ambrose. (Baton Rouge, LA: Louisiana State University Press, 2002).
Includes chapter, “Diary of An Army Nurse in Italy: March 2, 1944”
A Half Acre of Hell: A Combat Nurse in WW II by Avis D. Schorer
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.S35
(Lakeville, MN: Galde, 2000).
North Africa and Italy
A Nurse Remembers by Eula A. Sforza
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.S36
(n.p., 1991).
Memoir of service w/12th Field Hospital, ETO.
Combat Nurse: A Journal of World War II by Roberta L. Tayloe
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.T39
(Santa Barbara, CA: Fithian, 1988).
Her diary with 9th Evacuation Hospital Hosp in England, North Africa & Italy, 1942-44
A WWII Nurse’s Letters Home, or, I’d Rather Dance by Mary E. Umberger
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6 U43 2010
(Hartville, OH: American Personalized Books, 2010).
Letters, U.S., England, European Theater of Operations
Bedpan Commando: The Story of a Combat Nurse During World War II by June Wandrey
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.W36
(Elmore, OH: Elmore, 1989).
Her memoirs & letters, North Africa, Southern France, & Germany
American Nightingale: The Story of Frances Slanger, Forgotten Heroine of Normandy by Bob Welch
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D807.U6.W42
(NY: Atria, 2004).
Nurse with the 45th Field Hospital
An Honor to Serve by Richard and Barbara Wissolik, general editors
Call Number: Ridgway Hall D811.A2 H66 2007
(Latrobe, PA: Saint Vincent College Center for Northern Appalachian Studies, 2007).
Includes recount of Marjorie Butterfield, United States Army Nurse Corps, who served as a nurse in Patton’s Third Army
War stories II : further accounts of Minnesotans who defended their nation by Al Zdon
Call Number: Ridgway Hall F605 .Z462 2010
(Mounds View, Minn : Moonlit Eagle Productions, 2010).
Includes chapter, "Army Nurse at Dachau"

Last Updated: Jul 22, 2024 1:06 PM
URL: https://usawc.libguides.com/History_Army_Nurses
Print Page