USAHEC: Current Students, Faculty, and Staff of the U.S. Army War College: E-Books/Audiobooks

General Information

E-books are viewable on government networked computers, but for an optimal experience, downloading is recommended only for personal devices. While we strive to provide information for any eventuality, using different operating systems and devices may alter your experience. If you have questions or problems, email AskRoot@usawc.libanswers.com or Ask Us a Question.

U.S. Army E-Book & Audiobook Collection

EBSCO Products

EBSCO E-Book & Audiobook Guide
USAWC Library's how-to guide for accessing EBSCO resources. Includes some curriculum E-Books.

EBSCO E-Book Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of selected full-text eBooks, to read online or download to your device.
EBSCO Audiobooks This link opens in a new window
Search from our selected collection of audiobooks, listen to samples, and download your selection.

OverDrive Products

OverDrive Collection at AWC/AHEC
OverDrive, offered by the USAHEC for current students, faculty, and staff, lets you borrow digital content (like eBooks and eAudiobooks) anytime, anywhere. Use this link for web-based access on a laptop or computer.
more...less...
Every OverDrive collection is slightly different because each library or school selects the digital content appropriate for their users. USAWC Overdrive access is limited to current Students, Faculty, and Staff.
Request Your OverDrive Account Access
USAWC OverDrive access is limited to current USAWC students, faculty, and staff. To request access, please use the link above to provide your full name, your library card number and whether you are a student (which program and year), faculty, or staff. You may also send an email request to AskRoot@usawc.libanswers.com
Getting Started with OverDrive Guide
Visit this guide for help using the web-based OverDrive collection.
Getting Started with the Libby Mobile App Guide
Visit this guide for help installing & using the Libby app on your tablet or phone.
more...less...
With the free Libby app, you can borrow e-books and digital audiobooks--streaming them with wi-fi or mobile data or downloading items for offline use at the gym, on your commute, or on the go!

ProQuest Products

ProQuest E-Book Overview and Searching Guide
View this short YouTube tutorial on how to use and search for materials in ProQuest E-Book Central.
Downloading from ProQuest E-Book Guide
Use this guide to learn how to download available ProQuest E-Books to your device.
ProQuest E-Book Central Collection
Collection of selected full-text E-Books, to read online or download to your device.

DOD MWR Library Products

DoD MWR Digital Library
The MWR Digital Library provides subscription access to unabridged e-books and audiobooks, providing a library of digital content that you can download on your home computer or mobile device.
more...less...
Instantly set up your access to e-books, audiobooks and more by using the "How Do I...?" function at the above linked webpage. NOTE: Access limited to DoD Authorized Patrons per DoDI 1015.10.

Open Access E-Books & Audiobooks

Free ebook and audiobook collections available on the open web. These are largely books that are in the public domain (i.e., copyright has expired). Websites are not affiliated with the DoD and no endorsement is implied.

HathiTrust
A partnership of academic and research institutions, HathiTrust offers a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books. Download free books and texts.
JSTOR Open-Access eBooks
Open Access monographs available on the JSTOR platform. While an initial set of titles is available from four publishers (UC Press, U Michigan Press, UCL Press, and Cornell), expect to see several hundred more Open Access titles over the next years, while maintaining JSTOR’s high standards for quality content.
LibriVox
Free public domain audiobooks, read by volunteers from around the world.
National Academies Press
Operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States, the NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine
Open Culture
Download hundreds of free audiobooks, mostly classics, to your MP3 player or computer.
Open Library
An open access project to bring over 1,000,000 free eBooks to the public.
Project Gutenberg
A volunteer and community effort to digitize and provide access to over 50,000 eBooks. Download to your PC, Kindle, iPad, iPhone, Android or other mobile device. Please use from a non-DoD computer.