Statistics Resources: Africa, Asia & Middle East

Information has become a major driving force in economies. For many years, ADB has assisted its members in gathering and disseminating better statistical data. ADB disseminates recent key economic, financial, and social indicators.

The Afghanistan Index is a statistical compilation of economic, public opinion and security data. This resource will provide updated and historical information on various data, including crime, infrastructure, casualties, unemployment, Afghan security forces and coalition troop strength. It will be updated every two weeks.

Contains the latest statistics updates on selected key indicators about ASEAN and its Member States. Learn about programs and activities, upcoming events, and significant happenings in ASEAN.

The Asian Barometer (ABS) is an applied research program on public opinion on political values, democracy, and governance around the region. The regional network encompasses research teams from 13 East Asian political systems (Japan, Mongolia, South Koreas, Taiwan, Hong Kong, China, the Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, Singapore, Indonesia, and Malaysia), and 5 South Asian countries (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Nepal).

The Economic and Social Survey of Asia and the Pacific is the oldest and most comprehensive annual review of economic and social development in the region, analyses the short and medium-term challenges for the region and the outlook for the year ahead. The publication provides policy options for governments to overcome these challenges and maintain the pursuit of inclusive and sustainable development in Asia and the Pacific.

ESCAP Statistical Yearbook and Statistical Database. Statistical database provides a regional perspective on development issues in Asia and the Pacific. Provides 900 data series on a wide range of topics on population, education, health, poverty and inequalities, gender, economy, environment and connectivity. Updated twice a year (March and October).

See USAHEC's Frequently Asked Questions. USAWC patrons can submit new questions here.

A pioneering intra-Arab collaborative annual report titled "The State of Reform in the Arab World: The Arab Democracy Index". A biannual assessment of the level and nature of authoritarianism and democracy monitoring transition in selected Arab countries. The project is implemented in partnership with the Palestine Centre for Policy and Survey Research (PCPSR).

The Foundation is dedicated to promoting, through various activities, a just solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict that brings peace and security to both peoples.

The Iraq Index is a statistical compilation of economic, public opinion, and security data. This resource will provide updated information on various criteria, including crime, telephone and water service, troop fatalities, unemployment, Iraqi security forces, oil production, and coalition troop strength.

Arab Human Development Reports (AHDRs) engage institutions and citizens in the Arab countries in analysis and discussion about the factors which shape the choices and freedoms available to people across the region, so as to foster understanding and consensus around regional and national development priorities. They also identify disadvantaged groups within the region, and suggest policies, strategies and opportunities for their empowerment. The Reports target policy-makers, opinion leaders and civil societies who are engaged in the search for a brighter future across the region.

ESCWA provides a framework for the formulation and harmonization of sectoral policies for member countries, a platform for congress and coordination, a home for expertise and knowledge, and an information observatory. ESCWA comprises 18 Arab countries:Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, the State of Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

The Joint African Statistical Yearbook is a result of these concerted and coordinated efforts among the three main continental institutions (AfDB, AUC, and UNECA) in their quest to provide users with quality statistical information to inform Africa's development initiatives.

The Yearbook series is a result of joint efforts by major African regional organizations to set up a joint data collection mechanism of socioeconomic data on African countries as well as the development of a common harmonized database.

Contains over 1,000 indicators covering 53 African countries on topics including private sector development, infrastructure, human development, agriculture, rural development, environment, population, labor, HIV/AIDS, Malaria, and household welfare.