Statistics Resources: Environment & Energy

The Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN) is a center within the Earth Institute at Columbia University. CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment.

NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center (NCDC), located in Asheville, North Carolina, maintains the world's largest climate data archive and provides climatological services and data to every sector of the United States economy and to users worldwide. Records in the archive range from paleoclimatology data to centuries-old journals to data less than an hour old. The Center's mission is to preserve these data and make them available to the public, business, industry, government, and researchers.

UN-Water is the United Nations inter-agency coordination mechanism for all freshwater and sanitation related matters. Building on a long history of coordination in the UN System, UN-Water was formalized in 2003 by the United Nations High Level Committee on Programmes. It provides the platform to address the cross-cutting nature of water and maximize system-wide coordinated action and coherence. UN-Water promotes coherence in, and coordination of, UN system actions aimed at the implementation of the agenda defined by the Millennium Declaration and the World Summit on Sustainable Development as it relates to its scope of work. Through UN-Water the United Nations act as "One UN".

An interactive site from the UN Environment Programme, with data, maps, reports and more.

AQUASTAT is FAO's global water information system, developed by the Land and Water Division. The main mandate of the programme is to collect, analyze and disseminate information on water resources, water uses, and agricultural water management, with an emphasis on countries in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean. This allows interested users to find comprehensive and regularly updated information at global, regional, and national levels.

See USAHEC's Frequently Asked Questions. USAWC patrons can submit new questions here.

For over 60 years, the BP Statistical Review of World Energy has provided objective and globally consistent data on world energy markets. Building on this wealth of data, the BP Energy Outlook identifies long-term energy trends, and then develops projections for world energy markets to 2035. Beyond the data, Christof Rühl, BP’s chief economist, a LinkedIn "Influencer", blogs regularly on a variety of energy issues

To answer the issue of the lack of data transparency in oil markets, seen as a cause of excessive price fluctuations, the Joint Oil Data Initiative was formed in 2001 by several international organization. The Joint Oil Data Exercise led to the JODI-Oil World Database.

U.S. Department of Energy ensures America’s security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions.

Journal that presents information on all aspects of international energy published for managers and engineers in the oil and gas business, in banking, finance, commodity broking, marketing analysis, in transportation.

Official energy statistics from the US government. Includes International Energy Annual, Annual Energy Review, Country Energy Profiles, and more.

UNSD collects energy statistics from more than 190 countries and updates and maintains the Energy Statistics Database, which contains energy statistics for the period 1950-2010. The statistics cover production, trade, transformation and final consumption (end-use) for a range of primary and secondary energy products derived from conventional and non-conventional or renewable energy sources.

Provides energy data for more than 215 countries, areas and regions on the production, trade and intermediate and final consumption for primary and secondary conventional, non-conventional and new and renewable sources of energy from 1990 onwards.

Annual compilations of internationally comparable statistics summarizing world energy trends. Annual data on production, trade and consumption of energy for solid, liquid, and gaseous fuels, electricity, and heat. Per capita consumption series are also provided for all energy products. Includes graphs. Special tables of interest include: international trade tables for coal, crude oil and natural gas by partner countries; selected series of statistics on renewables and wastes; refinery distillation capacity; and a table on selected energy resources.