Statistics Resources: Defense

The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database provided by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START) at the University of Maryland. Includes information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2015.

The RAND Database of Worldwide Terrorism Incidents is a compilation of data from 1972 through 2009. They are still collecting data after 2009, it has not yet been added to the online database.

U.S. law requires the Secretary of State to provide Congress, by April 30 of each year, a full and complete report on terrorism with regard to those countries and groups meeting criteria set forth in the legislation. This annual report is entitled Country Reports on Terrorism. Beginning with the report for 2004, it replaced the previously published Patterns of Global Terrorism.

DoD data repository for active duty deaths from the Korean War, the Vietnam Conflict, and from 1 October 1989 to present. (For use on DoD Network only)

Report presents statistics regarding U.S. military casualties in the active Operation Enduring Freedom (OEF, Afghanistan), as well as operations that have ended: Operation New Dawn (OND, Iraq) and Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF, Iraq). This report includes statistics on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), traumatic brain injury (TBI), amputations, evacuations, and the demographics of casualties.

Report of war casualty statistics. Wars covered include the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812, the Mexican War, the Civil War, the Spanish-American War, World War I, World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam Conflict, and the Persian Gulf War. Military operations covered include the Iranian Hostage Rescue Mission, Lebanon Peacekeeping, Urgent Fury in Grenada, Just Cause in Panama, Desert Shield and Desert Storm, Restore Hope in Somalia, Uphold Democracy in Haiti, and the ongoing Operation Enduring Freedom (OEF), Operation Iraqi Freedom (OIF), and Operation New Dawn (OND).

REF D214 .C55 2002

See USAHEC's Frequently Asked Questions. USAWC patrons can submit new questions here.

Contains links to sites with statistical information and published reports on subjects such as U.S. military casualties (DCAS), aggregated roster immunization reports (ICRS), and military training and readiness reports (START). (For use on DoD Network only)

Population Representation in the Military Services; Compensation Greenbooks; Military Compensation Background Papers; Quadrennial Reviews of Military Compensation

The demographics reports, which were prepared for the DoD present a synthesis of demographic information describing members and families in the military community. Active duty Service branches include DoD's Army, Navy, Marine Corps, and Air Force, and the Reserve Components include DoD's Army National Guard, Army Reserve, Naval Reserve, Marine Corps Reserve, Air National Guard, Air Force Reserve, and the Department of Homeland Security's (DHS) Coast Guard Reserve.

Statistics for the active-duty force, published by the Air Force Personnel Center.

The Office of Army Demographics (OAD) is primarily responsible for providing Army-wide analytical and policy recommendations to support senior-level decisions relative to readiness of the force and human resources policies and programs that impact the Total Army community (i.e., active-duty soldiers, Reserves & National Guard personnel, retirees, family members, veterans, and Army civilians).

A brief snapshot of the U.S. Marine Corps and description of manpower resources; arranged according to demographics such as Military Occupational Specialty (MOS), age, gender, race, and rank.

COW is a free database offering data sets on the history of war and international conflicts. Click on "Related Data" for links to additional sites of conflict-related data.

Data on a range of conflict issues.

Report to Congress, in accordance with the Department of Defense Supplemental Appropriations Act 2008 (Section 9204, Public Law 110-252)

Free data online from Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, the publishers of the SIPRI Yearbook. Includes military expenditures, arms transfers, arms production, and more.

A compendium of data and analysis in the areas of security and conflicts; military spending and armaments; and non-proliferation, arms control and disarmament. (Root REF JX1974 .S775)

Numerous datasets on organized violence and peacemaking, including data on armed conflicts, both internal and external, state and non-state, 1946 to the present.

This edition of the World Military Expenditures and Arms Transfers (WMEAT) report, WMEAT 2012, covers the eleven-year period from 1999 through 2009, the most recent year for which final data for many parameters was available in 2012. It responds to a statutory requirement that the U.S. Department of State annually publish detailed, comprehensive and statistical information, and in-depth analyses regarding military expenditures, arms transfers, armed forces, and related economic data for each country of the world. Comments, including suggestions for improvement of the WMEAT report and identifications of apparent errors, may be addressed to WMEATeditor@state.gov.