Statistics Resources: Population & Demography

UN Women is the global champion for gender equality, working to develop and uphold standards and create an environment in which every woman and girl can exercise her human rights and live up to her full potential. We are trusted partners for advocates and decision-makers from all walks of life, and a leader in the effort to achieve gender equality.

The World's Women 2010 reveals that progress towards the goal of gender equality has been made in the last two decades in a number of areas, although uneven and, for the most part, quite modest. In some areas it is clear that there is a long way to go before gender equality is achieved. These are elaborated in the following eight chapters of the report, each representing a broad area of concern: population and families, health, education, work, power and decision-making, violence against women, environment and poverty. A wide selection of the statistics and indicators at the country level are presented in the Statistical Annex of the report.

The WomanStats Project collects data on all countries with a population greater than 200,000--a total of 174 countries. We code over 300 variables on data that includes laws, statistics, and practices within countries; the information available ranges from data on domestic violence to female landownership to political participation. Further, all of our data is available to the public for free, and the information on the site is continually updated as newer information becomes available.
Requires free registration.

GenderStats is a one-stop source of information on gender at the country level—a compilation of data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys.

McKinsey Global Institute has produced an interactive map based urban growth 2025 projections. (Interactive map requires Flash plugin)

he Megacities Carbon Project is developing, testing, and improving robust methods for assessing carbon emissions and monitoring the atmospheric trends of carbon attributed to the world’s largest cities.

The Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations has been issuing, since 1988, every two years revised estimates and projections of the urban and rural populations of all countries in the world and of their major urban agglomerations. The World Urbanization Prospects are used widely throughout the United Nations and by many international organizations, research centers, academic researchers and the media.

The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit, research organization devoted to research and policy analysis of the economic, social, demographic, fiscal, and other impacts of immigration on the US. Its mission is to provide immigration policymakers, the academic community, news media, and concerned citizens with reliable information about the social, economic, environmental, security, and fiscal consequences of legal and illegal immigration into the United States.

The U.S. Census Bureau produces annual estimates of net international migration for the nation, states, and counties in the United States. These estimates are based in part on data collected in censuses and surveys.

A compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who were naturalized, granted lawful permanent residence, admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, or applied for asylum or refugee status.

IPUMS International is an effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project has collected the world's largest archive of publicly available census samples. The data are coded and documented consistently across countries and over time to facillitate comparative research. IPUMS-International makes these data available to qualified researchers free of charge through a web dissemination system.

Includes the annually updated World Population Data Sheet and PRB's extensive database.

Demographic data for 228 countries and areas of the world, covering 1950-present, with projections to 2050. Sources include the U.N., U.S. Census Bureau estimates, and nat'l statistical agencies.

Prepared by the Population Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat, the World Population Prospects are used widely throughout the United Nations and by many international organizations, research centers, academic researchers and the media.

The United Nations Demographic Yearbook collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually by the United Nations Statistics Division to over 230 national statistical offices.
The Demographic Yearbook disseminates statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis. Demographic Yearbook special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others.

Gateway to a variety of UN websites with population data.

The USAID [U.S. Agency for International Development] Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries.

Key health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from a variety of international sources.

This 2015 statistical study provides estimates of the proportion of labour migrant workers among the total number of migrants worldwide. It outlines the regions and industries where international migrant workers are established and includes a specific focus on migrants in domestic work with updated numbers.

An important part of the World Bank's work on migration and remittances involves efforts to monitor and forecast remittance and migration flows, and to provide timely analysis on topics such as remittances, migration, and diaspora issues.

The Data Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.

Full-time statisticians in UNHCR's Field Information and Coordination Section track the number of displaced persons. These figures are released every year in Global Trends and Global Appeal reports.

See USAHEC's Frequently Asked Questions. USAWC patrons can submit new questions here.